July and August fugue

July and August passed in some kind of fugue for me.   A good part of the time was spent planning and working towards a community art project that fizzled out because of the actions of other people.    Somehow I always knew that would happen but all the same I invested a great deal of time and energy in the possibility.   Now that August has ended I am facing the fact that the project is completely kaput and it’s time to get on with other things.

Last night that I looked through the photos I’ve taken over the past two months and wondered why so few of them made it to my blog.   This morning I saw that Paula of https://bopaula.wordpress.com/2017/08/31/thursdays-special-july-august-recap/ has posted a prompt asking us to to look back on the photos we took in July and August.   It’s the perfect chance for me to post some of my backlog of photos.

20170820_070653-1  July and August are our coldest months here in southern Oz.   Although the wattle is flowering the temperature has been hovering around 11-14 deg. C for most of past two months.  Down here on the coast the wind blows  in off the Southern Ocean.   Some days it feels like it has blown straight off the ice of Antarctica.  Sticking my head out the back door is about as far as I get into the great outdoors sometimes.

2017-08-24 11.05.38-1-01  In the bush the ground is slick with mud and the shadows are long.

I rarely get out to the wild beaches further down the coast – 2017-08-24 10.10.11-01

When I do it’s impossible not to notice that the winter storms have eaten away more the dunes.   Each year since I’ve been living down here (I arrived in 2012) this particular beach has been getting more and more eroded.

2017-08-24 10.20.13-1-022017-08-24 10.20.00-02

It is wonderful to get out and stretch the eyes though – my heart and mind expand as I walk along the deserted shore –

2017-08-24 10.17.41-01

Such days have been rare this winter.   Mostly the weather has been cold and drear – 2017-08-22 14.39.57-01

but yesterday there was a definite hint of spring in the air –

2017-08-31 10.48.16-02

and the month of August ended drenched in radiant light –    2017-08-31 16.47.47-01

13 thoughts on “July and August fugue

  1. aloha Suzanne. what beautiful walks you have all around you—even in your winter. the ripple lines in that last photo make it shimmer for me. it’s so tranquil with the birds there too. very cool.

    Like

    1. Calling Australia Oz started with an alternative magazine called Oz produced in the 1960s. It’s had a bit a resurgence with the internet – maybe because it’s easier to type than Australia. 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks Derrick. The shadows of trees are really noticeable when the sun comes out at present. Unfortunately that ol’ sun has been absent most of the time lately. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

