Dreaming

Just before dawn I had a strange dream –

      An old man was driving on a wet mountain road.    His car spun out of control on a slippery patch and crashed into an embankment.   The man, affectionately known as Bobby, died on impact.

                    There was a moment’s silence then Bobby’s soul broke free from his body.   It soared up like smoke and disappeared into the unknown.

The dream woke me up and I lay in my bed thinking.   Personally, I’m not ready to go yet. I have many more things I want to do.   I hope I have more time, I hope I have more time.

hawk

I wrote this haiku in response to my prompt for this week on my haiku prompt site On The Road prompts

The prompts are always open.   If this week’s prompts doesn’t appeal to you maybe you will find one that does by reading back through previous prompts.   It is also worth clicking on the links to responses others have written.  They are well worth reading.  Each week I am inspired and humbled by the thoughtful and creative responses others are writing.

 

9 thoughts on “Dreaming

Leave a Reply

