The Call of the Road

I think it was in the 90s when people used the term serial monogamy to talk about someone who had a series of long term sexual relationships.   I’m not discussing my sex life here.   Rather I am using a similar term to describe my pattern of settling in an area for a few years then wandering around for a while before settling in a completely different local and doing the same thing – serial homemaking perhaps or serial occupancy.

I’ve been in this area for 5 years now.   In that time I’ve rented four different places.  This place I’m in now works the best of any of them. I’m comfortable here and am even making plans for next year.  Always though I hear the road calling.
2017-06-18 10.37.35-01

My response to this week’s “On the Road” Prompt https://ontheroadprompts.wordpress.com/2017/07/05/the-call-of-the-road/ 

“As we turn every corner of the Narrow Road to the Deep North, we sometimes stand up unawares to applaud and we sometimes fall flat to resist the agonizing pains we feel in the depths of our hearts.  There are also times when we feel like taking to the roads ourselves, seizing the raincoat lying near by, or times when we feel like sitting down till our legs take root, enjoying the scene we picture before our eyes.”  –  Soruyo

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Call of the Road

  1. Interesting lifestyle you have chosen, Suzanne. I’m the opposite. I find comfort in rooting myself for the long term. I did the gypsy lifestyle in my younger days out of circumstances. I know nothing in life is guaranteed, but I find solace in surrounding myself with the familiar as a home-base for my adventures. The road still calls to me, but in a different way. I get antsy when I haven’t gone on a photography shoot for awhile.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can relate to all of that. A lot of my moving around is because of circumstances. Sometimes I long for a permanent home base though. Going out taking photos is a great way of exploring the world without having to totally uproot, I agree.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

