A not so obvious narrative

 

2017-02-09 16.40.27-01

2017-02-09 16.40.16-01  Photos taken with my phone

 

This week Sally D has included her thoughts on Black & White mobile devices photography as part of her challenge  https://lensandpensbysally.wordpress.com/2017/05/15/sally-ds-mobile-photography-challenge-black-and-white-palms-and-succulents/.    She writes-

“Black-and-white photography continues to inspire my view of the world, its obvious and not-so-obvious narratives. When color is stripped from the subject, there is a closer affinity to purity of sight. Hidden layers often are revealed and elements of capture can be more enticing.

Color is reality, but monochrome is part (among other characteristics) dreamy boldface plus suitable subject. As I watch the world before me, suddenly the possibility for the b&w appears, is made clear and then clearer. I see the real in a new dimension. The image is influenced by the mind’s interpretative abilities. The intuitive eye fills the heart’s center, recreating what is seen and what can be seen.

The photographic journey continues on an adventure that enlightens and illuminates the visual landscape. A subject can be rendered so differently in full technicolor vs. black and white.

The reduction to basic elements (sans color) makes the stilling of a moment something beyond its original intent. Does this decision by the photographer impose a significant change in the viewer’s reaction? Or is the work simply an explanation and expression of the way that the artist sees the subject?”

                                               ______________________________________________________

Whenever I drive past this rock face I imagine ways to photograph.  The folds and crevices  suggest Black & White photos to me but I feel I am yet to make a photo that truly resembles what I see in my mind’s eye. 

When I stop my car and walk up to closer to the rocks their sheer presence somehow distracts me from my original intention.   I always  plan to take detailed close ups  but always end up taking shots of the wider view.  I’ll be going over that way tomorrow.   Perhaps it will be the day when my intuitive eye will fill my heart centre and I’ll get closer to recreating what can seen.   I live in hope Smile

10 thoughts on “A not so obvious narrative

      1. Years ago when my husband and I had a 35 mm Pentax and a 2 1/4 X 2 1/4 we took many B & W photos…we had hoped to set up a dark room…and then he became my ex…and digital became my attraction…it is the next thing I want to buy before I retire…a good camera

        Like

      2. I am still stuck using my phone but its so frustrating. I am going to get a camera soon. I thought about getting a digital SLR but decided I didn’t want all that confusion. I’ll get a little Nikon point and shoot like I had before. It’s amazing what can be achieved with them. I can get the one I want for around $200. So much easier for me than learning all that F stop stuff. I used to have a Ricoh many years ago when my s-i-l had set a darkroom in her bathroom. We got into for a while but the chemicals where too strong for me.

        Like

  1. Change the medium, change the message. B&W photography is about light , form, depth and texture. Colour photography is about colour and emotions. The subject may be the same in both compositions, but the change in codes & conventions alters the message about the subject.

    When the JFK funeral was televised, it was noted in schools that those students who viewed the the event in colour and different recollections ( recall & memories ) from those who viewed it black and white. They were watching the same channels with the same news networks, but some classrooms had B&W televisions while others had colour.

    Great shots. Very dramatic – captures dynamic stillness.

    Like

    1. Thank you for that information. You’ve added to my understanding. Over here in Australia we didn’t have colour TV when JFK was shot. I remember seeing the black and white news footage. I only saw the colour footage many years later on one of those TV shows compiling images of the past. Seeing the film in colour felt somehow wrong to me – the images in my mind are etched in black ink. The colour film did not have the same dramatic impact.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

