Up River

Following a road through farmlands of dry yellow grass I catch glimpses of a river but there seems no way to get to it.  Just when I am about to give up I see a rough dirt track veering off towards a line of trees. Steering my little car between the ruts I bounce along to a point where the road disappeared down a steep incline.  Sensing mystery I leave my car and continue on foot.

124

The track winds down to an area of bushland.   A sign tells me the area was regenerated some years previously by a local fly fisherman’s club.   The trees close in around me and the little creek gurgles its way over the rocks to a meet a wider river.

109

I walk to the water’s edge and listen to the messages sounding in the water as it tinkles over the stones –

100

Looking upriver I see that perspective had vanished into a metaphor of itself and become a place to be reached in dreams –

7 thoughts on “Up River

    1. Oh I am so sorry to make you search all over my blog. The haibun I meant was the one you commented on last week called The Enchanted Forest. Please forgive my cranky comment. I was having a bad day and took it out on you. It was incredibly petty of me and I feel really bad about it. I hope you are recovering from your surgery. Lets leave this matter of links here – I am really sorry to have stressed you like this and hope we can be still be friends. – Suzanne

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, Suzanne. No worries. You participate any time you wish in the poetry challenge. All you have to do is link to my original post so I can find you. We all have bad days, my friend. Here’s to better days ahead. ❤️❤️❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  1. These photos are wonderful: full of subdued colour. That first one glows with warmth and promise. I love your daring in taking your little car along rutted tracks, and the way you perceive beyond the landscape. iPhone or camera? And any post processing? – if I can spoil the magic with technicalities!

    Like

Leave a Reply

